Tuesday, March 14, 2023

The Federation of Irish Sport has today announced the winners of the 2023 Volunteers in Sport Awards proudly supported by the National Network of 29 Local Sports Partnerships.

The Mayo winner is Deirdre Maloney Reid from the Moy Davitts GAA Club. For more than a decade, Deirdre has been a tremendous volunteer.

She is being recognised for her role in setting up a club for children with additional needs.

From the outset, Deirdre worked with Mayo Sports Partnership and other groups to organise volunteers, jerseys and equipment to help run the club. Deirdre herself attends all of the sessions and has inspired some of the older children to help with the running of the project.

The club has provided a much-needed resource for children with additional needs and has also been a great opportunity for parents to meet and chat with one another. Deirdre has helped to develop a much needed resource in the club.

“She has put a huge amount of time and energy into the team. Her organisational skills are exceptional, she communicates well with the players and parents and gathered a large group of volunteers to work alongside her to ensure we can provide the best possible sessions for our young players,” said Moy Davitts on social media today as the club congratulated Deirdre.

Catherine Moore from Greenfields Hockey Club won the Galway award, Frank Grehan from St Aidan’s GAA club won in Roscommon and Kay Curley won Sligo’s award with Sligo Tennis club.

The awards ceremony will take place at The Crowne Plaza Hotel, Blanchardstown on March 22.

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht News

Irish rugby legend to repeat his walk to Mayo