Tuesday, August 02, 2022

Captains – Evie Twomey of Cork and Caoimhe Cleary of Galway. Picture: David Fitzgerald/Sportsfile

Galway and Cork boast rich recent histories in the grade as they prepare to do battle at 7pm tomorrow in MacDonagh Park, Nenagh, Tipperary.

It is the first ZuCar All-Ireland minor final since 2019, Cork will start as holders.

Three years ago, the Leesiders defeated Monaghan in the Final and barring Galway’s victories over them in the 2014 and 2018 deciders, Cork would be going for seven-in-a-row.

This is Cork’s seventh successive final appearance and whenever they’ve come across Galway at the business end of the competition, the football has been of the highest quality.

A win for Cork in Nenagh would secure a 12th minor A title, while Galway are aiming for a seventh.

It’s set up for another potential classic and both sides come into this game high on confidence.

Galway got the better of a highly-rated Kildare in their semi-final, as Cork defeated Cavan by two points, 3-13 to 3-11.

Galway (v Cork): L O’Halloran; M Jordan, J Glynn, I Claffey; C Cleary (capt.), E Mitchell, A Ellian; M Banek, M Walsh; N Divilly, A Shaughnessy, M Glynn; S Duffy, L Freeney, M Mulryan

Cork (v Galway): D Creed; S Callanan, L Heffernan, A Barrett; M Condon, S McGoldrick, A Corcoran; A Healy, E Twomey (capt.); R Leahy, A Ring, É Curran; E Hurley, O Cahalane, L Hallihan.

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht Sport

Mayo win Gaynor Trophy

Similar Articles