Monday, May 16, 2022

Sligo have received a home draw in the opening round of the inaugural Tailteann Cup – the GAA’s new All-Ireland second-tier football championship.

The draw for the opening round took place this morning.

All first round matches will be played on the weekend of May 28/29 with winner decided on the day.

The Yeats County will host London in Markievicz Park.

17 counties are contesting the new competition, including New York who get a bye to the quarter-finals.

There will be two prelim round matches: Wexford v Offaly and Wicklow v Waterford. These games will be played next weekend (May 21/22nd).

Speaking ahead of Monday morning’s draw, GAA President Larry McCarthy said the rationale behind a regionalised draw was to help teams and supporters reduce travel costs and to “make the most of local rivalries”.

The semi-finals and final of the Tailteann Cup will all be played at Croke Park and these games will be televised live.

The first round draw is as follows:

Northern Section
Longford v Fermanagh
Leitrim v Antrim
Sligo v London
Cavan v Down

Southern Section
Wexford/Offaly v Wicklow/Waterford
Carlow v Tipperary
Laois v Westmeath.

Tailteann Cup dates:

Preliminary round games
May 21/22

First round games
May 28/29

Saturday, June 4


Sunday, June 19 (both at Croke Park)


Saturday, July 9 (Croke Park).

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht Sport

Camaraderie is the key for club man Cafferkey

Similar Articles