Tuesday, April 05, 2022

Having originally made the 35-player training squad, two Ballina RFC players have made the final cut to represent Ireland in the first ever U18 Women’s Six Nations which will be held in Edinburgh this month.

The extended squad participated in three weekend camps at the IRFU’s High Performance Centre in Dublin in preparation for the festival which takes place at the DAM Health Stadium beside Murrayfield.

Sarah McCormick, Ballina, and Clara Barrett, Geesala, are among five Connacht U18 players to have made 26-player squad. Molly Boote (Connemara RFC), Karly Tierney (Tuam-Oughterard RFC) and Éabha Nic Dhonnacha (Corinthians RFC) have also been selected.

Ballina RFC players Sarah McCormick and Clara Barrett have been selected on the Irish squad for the upcoming U18 Women’s Six Nations in Edinbugh

Ireland will play 35-minute matches against England and France on Game Day 1 next Saturday (April 9), before playing a full 70-minute fixture against Wales on Game Day 2 on Wednesday, April 13.

Six Nations will stream each game from Day 2 of the U-18 Women’s Festival on their YouTube channel and the feed for Ireland’s clash with Wales will be available on IrishRugby.ie.

Katie Fitzhenry, IRFU Women’s performance pathway coach, commented: “Over the past few weeks we have seen this group grow and meet each challenge the coaching group have set for them. They are a credit to their clubs and provincial coaches.

“The Six Nations Festival will be another great development marker in their young playing careers as the format ensures that each performance is a chance to learn and get better.

“It is a proud moment to pull on a green jersey for the first time and I am sure it will just as special for this group.”

Backs (12) –

Clara Barrett (Ballina RFC/Connacht)
Ellen Boylan (Carrick-on-Shannon RFC Connacht)
Molly Boote (Connemara RFC/Connacht) WNTS
Katie Corrigan (Tullow RFC/Leinster)
Alanna Fitzpatrick (Portarlington RFC/Leinster) WNTS
Kate Flannery (Fethard RFC/Munster) WNTS
Jade Gaffney (Navan RFC/Leinster)
Abby Moyles (Navan RFC/Leinster)
Éabha Nic Dhonnacha (Galway Corinthians RFC/Connacht) WNTS
Robyn O’Connor (Wexford Wanderers RFC/Leinster)
Rebecca Rodgers (Ballina-Killaloe RFC/Munster)
Eva Sterritt (Greystones RFC/Leinster) WNTS

Forwards (14) –

Sophie Barrett (Enniskillen RFC/Ulster) WNTS
Jorja Battishill (Malone RFC/Ulster)
Beth Buttimer (Fethard RFC/Munster)
Maebh Clenaghan (Letterkenny RFC/Ulster)
Isobel Clerk (Mullingar RFC/Leinster)
Sarah Delaney (Cill Dara RFC/Leinster)
Koren Dunne (Portlaoise RFC/Leinster)
Amy O’Mahony (Greystones RFC/Leinster)
Sarah McCormick (Ballina RFC/Connacht)
Sadhbh McGrath (City of Derry RFC/Ulster)
Jane Neill (Arklow RFC/Leinster)
Karly Tierney (Tuam/Oughterard RFC/Connacht)
Orla Wafer (Enniscorthy RFC/Leinster)
Hannah Wilson (Cill Dara RFC/Leinster)

* WNTS denotes member of Women’s National Talent Squad

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht Sport

Similar Articles

Ballina Soroptimists to highlight UN campaign