Tuesday, April 05, 2022

Ballina RFC player Harry West is the only Connacht player to be selected on the Irish Under-19 squad for its two games against France over the Easter.

Ballina RFC man Harry West is the only Connacht player to be selected on the Irish Under-19 squad for its two games against France over the Easter.

The first match will take place at Queen’s University Belfast next Monday (April 11), and the second clash between the two sides is pencilled in for Saturday week (April 16) at St. Mary’s College RFC in Dublin. Both fixtures kick-off at 2pm.

The Ireland Under-19 coaching group is led by Kieran Hallett (Leinster Elite Player Development Officer) alongside Andrew Browne (Connacht Elite Player Development Officer) and Mark Butler (Munster Talent Coach).

Ballina RFC are very proud of their young out-half saying in statement: “Harry is an exceptionally talented player who has come through our system from Minis to now playing in the Senior team. He has always exuded the ethos and qualities we hold dear in Ballina RFC and has represented us with pride and honour near and far.”

This follows the news that the club’s players Sarah McCormick and Clara Barrett were selected on the Ireland Under-18 squad for the inaugural Women’s Under-18 Six Nations in Edinburgh this month.

Club Chairman, Alan Rowe, has reacted joyously to the announcement and said the past few days have been very special for everyone at Heffernan Park.

“We had Clara (Barrett) and Sarah (McCormick) called up for Ireland on Monday and now Harry selected for the U19 squad today – it’s fantastic. These selections are an example of the progress being made at all levels of the club and the quality of coaching going on from Minis, through Youths, Girls and Seniors.”

The Ireland Under-19 Men’s Squad:

Backs (12) –

Henry Buttimer (Rockwell College/Munster)
Hugh Cooney (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Josh Costello (Shannon RFC/Munster)
Liam McCarthy (Bandon Grammar School/Munster)
James Nicholson (St. Michael’s College/Leinster)
Ihechi Oji (Cistercian College Roscrea/Munster)
Andrew O’Mahony (UCC RFC/Munster)
Sam Prendergast (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
Ross Taylor (City of Armagh RFC/Ulster)
Rory Telfer (Coleraine Grammar School/Ulster)
Harry West (The King’s Hospital/Ballina RFC/Connacht)
James Wright (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)

Forwards (15) –

Jack Boal (Belfast Harlequins RFC/Ulster)
Patrick Browne (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
James Doyle (Enniscorthy RFC/Leinster)
George Hadden (Clontarf FC/Leinster)
Conall Henchy (Crescent College Comprehensive/Munster)
Charlie Irvine (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
Daniel Leane (St. Mary’s College RFC/Leinster)
Danny McCarthy (Midleton RFC/Munster)
Gus McCarthy (Blackrock College/Leinster)
Paddy McCarthy (Blackrock College/Leinster)
James McNabney (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)
Liam Molony (Blackrock College/Leinster)
George Morris (Gonzaga College/Leinster)
George Shaw (Cardiff University/IQ Rugby)
Ruadhan Quinn (Crescent College Comprehensive/Munster)

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht Sport

Similar Articles