Tuesday, January 11, 2022

Galway senior boss Pádraic Joyce has named his captain and vice-captain for the upcoming 2022 season.

Joyce has chosen Moycullen’s Seán Kelly as skipper, while Oughterard’s Matthew Tierney will be his deputy.

Kelly was an integral part to Moycullen’s first ever Galway SFC title in 2020, and has been in the Galway senior panel since 2018. He was also on the Galway U21 team, who won a Connacht title, but lost to Dublin in the All-Ireland final in 2017. He takes over the role from last year’s captain Shane Walsh.

While Tierney was central to Oughterard’s All-Ireland Club IFC winning team in 2020. At the the end of the same year, Tierney was talisman for Galway U20 All-Ireland winning team, and he was nominated for Young Footballer of the Year in 2021.

Galway will face Roscommon in the FBD League final in the NUI Galway Connacht GAA Air Dome this coming Friday at 5.45pm.

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht Sport

Horan to hand first starts to two Mayo players