Friday, January 07, 2022

Mayo GAA senior football manager James Horan has announced his team for the first FBD League game against Galway in the NUI Galway Connacht GAA Air Dome this Friday evening at 6pm to start the 2022 season.

Horan has named five debutants in the starting 15 line up: Donnacha McHugh, Castlebar Mitchels, Fionnan Duffy, Crossmolina, Jack Mahon, Charlestown and the Ballina Stephenites duo of Sam Callinan and Frank Irwin. Castlebar Mitchels’ Paddy Durcan will captain the side on the day. Durcan is one of a couple of seasoned campaigners picked, along with Diarmuid O’Connor, Padraig O’Hora, Michael Plunkett and Fergal Boland. Newly appointed captain Stephen Coen is joined on the bench by 2021 All-Stars Mattie Ruane and Ryan O’Donoghue.

1. Rory Byrne Castlebar Mitchels
2. Donnacha McHugh Castlebar Mitchels
3. Padraig O’Hora Ballina Stephenites
4. Sam Callinan Ballina Stephenites
5. Paddy Durcan (C) Castlebar Mitchels
6. Michael Plunkett Ballintubber
7. Eoghan McLaughlin Westport
8. Conor O’Shea Breaffy
9. Jordan Flynn Crossmolina Deel Rovers
10. Fergal Boland Aghamore
11. Diarmuid O’Connor Ballintubber
12. Frank Irwin Ballina Stephenites
13. James Carr Ardagh
14. Fionnan Duffy Crossmolina Deel Rovers
15. Jack Mahon Charlestown

16. Jack Livingstone Breaffy
17. Paddy Heneghan Castlebar Mitchels
18. Matthew Ruane Breaffy
19. Robert Hennelly Breaffy
20. Stephen Coen Hollymount/ Carramore
21. Ruairi Keane Mayo Gaels
22. Justin Healy Cill Chomain
23. Rory Brickenden Westport
24. Ryan O’ Donoghue Beal an Mhuirthead
25. Paul Towey Charlestown
26. Darren Coen Hollymount/Carramore

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht Sport

Similar Articles