Friday, July 09, 2021
Mayo manager James Horan has made four changes to his team for Sunday’s Connacht SFC semi-final against Leitrim from that which beat Sligo, handing a debut to Castlebar Mitchels goalkeeper Rory Byrne and a first championship start to Padraig O’Hora.

Castlebar Mitchels goalkeeper Rory Byrne will make his Mayo debut this Sunday. Picture: INPHO/Tommy Dickson

Byrne has never played league or championship for Mayo and replaces Robert Hennelly in front of a full-back line that will be missing Lee Keegan. It’s understood the Westport man is carrying a shoulder injury.

O’Hora has been handed the No.3 jersey with regular wearer Oisin Mullin moving to the half-back line and Michael Plunkett switching from wing-back to corner-back.
The other two changes in personnel see Stephen Coen selected at midfield and Bryan Walsh at left-half-forward, in place of Kevin McLoughlin and Jordan Flynn.

Padraig O’Hora (left) comes into the Mayo team and Lee Keegan (right) is out. Picture: INPHO/Bryan Keane

Man of the Match against Sligo, Darren McHale, is this time selected at full-forward with captain Aidan O’Shea on the ’40’ in what will be the Breaffy man’s 150th league and championship appearance for Mayo.

Mayo County Board earlier today issued a statement in which it said it was “currently working with the HSE on a number of COVID-19 related queries amongst members of the County Senior Football panel”.The Mayo team to play Leitrim is as follows: Rory Byrne; Enda Hession, Padraig O’Hora, Michael Plunkett; Paddy Durcan, Oisin Mullin, Eoghan McLaughlin; Matthew Ruane, Stephen Coen; Conor Loftus, Aidan O’Shea, Bryan Walsh; Tommy Conroy, Darren McHale, Ryan O’Donoghue.

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht Sport

IT Carlow keep quarter-final hopes alive

Captain Clifford breaks Ballinrobe hearts

Similar Articles