Monday, April 19, 2021

Aidan O’Shea and Mayo will begin their defence of the Nestor Cup by taking on Sligo. PIcture: INPHO/James Crombie

Mayo will begin the defence of their Connacht championship title with a quarter-final against Sligo and will avoid both Galway and Roscommon until a potential Connacht final. 

The draw for the 2021 Connacht senior football championship was conducted live on the Six One News on RTE One this evening by Marty Morrissey and Connacht GAA president John Murphy. The draw paired Mayo against Sligo, who will be managed this year by former Mayo coach Tony McEntee, with the winner set to take on Leitrim in the semi-finals. Roscommon and Galway will meet in the second semi-final.

The Connacht football championship is due to begin on the weekend of June 26-27. The Connacht final is scheduled for July 24-25. Exact fixture details are expected to be confirmed in the coming weeks.

Neither London nor New York will feature in this year’s Connacht championship due to Covid travel restrictions. The 2021 football championships are to be played on a straight knockout basis, as they were in 2020. The Connacht champions will go on to face the Leinster champions in an All-Ireland semi-final on August 14-15 and the All-Ireland final will be played on August 28-29.

2021 Connacht SFC draw:

Quarter-final – Mayo v Sligo

Semi-finals – Roscommon v Galway; Mayo/Sligo v Leitrim

Comments are closed.

Sports Journalist
Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht Sport

Mayo man on the brink of darts’ top table

Similar Articles