Thursday, November 19, 2020

The annual Pride of Place Awards will be held online this weekend, with RTE’s Marty Morrisey hosting the event that this year honours communities across the island for their work during the Covid-19 crisis. Pride of Place Awards 2020

Dubbed the ‘Oscars of the Community Sector’, the Pride of Place awards is an annual competition that promotes and celebrates the best in community development and recognises the selfless efforts of people in making their local area a better place to live, work and socialise.

It is organised by Co-operation Ireland and sponsored by IPB Insurance, with nominees proposed by local authorities around the country

Mayo Co Council has proposed four Pride of Place nominees this year – Ballina Lions Club, Belcarra Community Group, Westport Men’s Shed and Ballyhaunis “Celebrate Diversity”

Pride of Place Chairperson Tom Dowling said communities played a more important role than ever this year in helping to deal with the challenge of Covid-19 and ensure that vulnerable people were looked after.

Maura Murphy, Pride of Place Liaison Officer with Mayo County Council said the local authority was lucky to have an abundance of projects and community groups to work with and choose from each year and wished this year’s local nominees the best of luck.

This year’s award announcements will be streamed live via from 7pm this Saturday night.

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht News

Mayo students win national science awards

Similar Articles