Sunday, November 08, 2020

Mayo are through to a first Connacht senior football final since 2015 after they saw off the challenge of Roscommon at Dr Hyde Park on Sunday afternoon. Mayo were 1-16 to 0-13 winners over the newly-crowned Division 2 champions and will now look forward to a Connacht final against Galway next weekend.

Mayo took a six-point lead in at half-time following a first half in which they utterly dominated Roscommon. They ran up the scores in the first 20 minutes, with Cillian O’Connor scoring three, two from frees and another from play.

Paddy Durcan, Diarmuid O’Connor and Kevin McLoughlin also got on the scoresheet, before a lovely pass from Eoghan McLaughlin found Diarmuid O’Connor in space and the Ballintubber man buried his effort beyond Colm Lavin.

Roscommon had been poor early doors but a handful of scores from Donie Smith took them in at the break with Mayo’s lead narrowed slightly, although the Green and Red added further scores through Aidan O’Shea and Tommy Conroy.

Mayo extended the lead early in the second half with four more points from Cillian O’Connor and led by nine after 46 minutes. Scores from Conor Cox and Niall Daly gave Roscommon some hope of the comeback but an inspirational point from Paddy Durcan just before the water-break ensured Mayo were still seven to the good entering the final quarter.

Diarmuid Murtagh came off the bench to kick a couple of late points for Roscommon but Mayo held out for the win by a margin of six points, with further scores coming from Cillian O’Connor, who had a personal tally of 0-9 for the day, and Conor Loftus.

A Connacht Final tie with Galway now awaits, with the Tribesmen advancing after Sligo were forced to pull out of their semi-final fixture.

See Tuesday’s Western People for full report, reaction and analysis.

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht Sport