Friday, November 06, 2020

Diarmuid O’Connor has been recalled to the Mayo starting 15 for Sunday’s Connacht SFC semi-final against Roscommon in Hyde Park. Picture: INPHO/Bryan Keane

The Mayo team for this Sunday’s Connacht SFC semi-final showdown with Roscommon in Dr Hyde Park has been named. The starting 15 shows two changes from the team that started last weekend’s quarter-final win over Leitrim, with All-Star defender Chris Barrett coming into the half-back line for his first start of 2020 and Diarmuid O’Connor resuming his place in the half-forward line. Michael Plunkett and Jordan Flynn are the players to miss out.

Elsewhere James Horan’s team is unchanged from that which started against Leitrim, with Mattie Ruane and Conor Loftus pairing up in midfield and Cillian O’Connor, Tommy Conroy and team captain Aidan O’Shea comprising the full-forward line. Oisin Mullin, Eoghan McLoughlin, Bryan Walsh, Ryan O’Donoghue and Conroy, all of whom made their championship debuts against Leitrim, retain their places in the starting side.

Roscommon manager Anthony Cunningham has also named his starting team for Sunday’s match. Roscommon will line out with the three Daly brothers (Conor, Ronan and Niall) in defence alongside Sean Mullooly, Brian Stack and David Murray, the partnership of Tadhg O’Rourke and Cathal Compton in midfield and with a dangerous-looking forward line containing Conor Cox, Enda and Donie Smith, Cian McKeon, Niall Kilroy and veteran Cathal Cregg.

There are nine survivors in the Roscommon starting 15 from their Connacht semi-final victory over Mayo in 2019, the last competitive encounter between the two neighbouring counties.

Sunday’s game throws in at 1.30pm and will be broadcast live on RTE2. You can read the Western People’s full match preview here

Mayo team v Roscommon: David Clarke; Oisín Mullin, Chris Barrett, Lee Keegan; Patrick Durcan, Stephen Coen, Eoghan McLaughlin; Matthew Ruane, Conor Loftus; Bryan Walsh, Ryan O’Donoghue, Diarmuid O’Connor; Tommy Conroy, Aidan O’Shea, Cillian O’Connor.

Roscommon team v Mayo: Colm Lavin; David Murray, Conor Daly, Sean Mullooly; Ronan Daly, Brian Stack, Conor Daly; Cathal Compton, Tadgh O’Rourke; Niall Kilroy, Enda Smith, Cian McKeon; Donie Smith, Conor Cox, Cathal Cregg.

Comments are closed.

Sports Journalist
Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht Sport

Similar Articles

‘My family feared I was going to die’