Wednesday, October 21, 2020

Caelan Doris doing some light training on Lacken Strand on Good Friday of this year. He has now been named to start against Italy in the Six Nations this weekend.
Picture; David Farrell Photography

Two Mayo men have been named in the match day squad by the Irish Rugby Coaching Team for the rescheduled 2020 Guinness Six Nations Championships fixtures against Italy which will take place at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday 24th October.

Caelan Doris, a native of Lacken, will start and has been named in the back row at blindside while Ballina man Dave Heffernan is named among the replacements.

Captain Johnny Sexton is joined in the half backs by Conor Murray with Bundee Aki and Garry Ringrose paired in the midfield. Jacob Stockdale is named at fullback with Andrew Conway and the uncapped Hugo Keenan on the wings.

Upfront Cian Healy, Rob Herring and Andrew Porter make up the front row whileJames Ryan and Tadgh Beirne fill the second row berths. Will Connors makes his debut at openside CJ Stander at No.8.

Ballina man Dave Heffernan has been named among the replacements for Ireland this weekend.

The replacements are Dave Heffernan, Ed Byrne, Finlay Bealham, Ultan Dillane, Peter O’Mahony, Jamison Gibson Park, Ross Byrne and Robbie Henshaw.

Squad PCR testing was clear.

Kick-off at the Aviva Stadium is 3.30pm on Saturday 24th October and the game is being televised by Virgin Media and ITV.





Ireland Team to Play Italy – 2020 Guinness 6 Nations Championships Round 4
15. Jacob Stockdale (Ulster/Lurgan) 28 caps
14. Andrew Conway (Munster/Garryowen) 21 caps
13. Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD) 29 caps
12. Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians) 26 caps
11. Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) uncapped
10. Jonathan Sexton (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 91 caps CAPTAIN
9. Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) 81 caps

1. Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) 98 caps
2. Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 11 caps
3. Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD) 26 caps
4. Tadhg Beirne (Munster/Lansdowne) 13 caps
5. James Ryan (Leinster/UCD) 26 caps
6. Caelan Doris (Leinster/UCD) 2 caps

7. Will Connors (Leinster/UCD) uncapped
8. CJ Stander (Munster/Shannon) 41 caps

16. Dave Heffernan (Connacht/Buccaneers) 1 cap
17. Ed Byrne (Leinster/UCD) uncapped
18. Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Corinthians) 9 caps
19. Ultan Dillane (Connacht/Corinthians) 15 caps
20. Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution) 67 caps
21. Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) uncapped
22. Ross Byrne (Leinster/UCD) 6 caps
23. Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers) 43 caps

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht Sport