Tuesday, July 07, 2020

Pearse Street in Ballina, or Knox Street as it was previously known, around the time of the Irish Tourist Board survey in 1942. Eight properties in the Pearse Street Architectural Conservation Area are to benefit from a new tranche of funding.

There’s positive news for Ballina today with confirmation it is among six towns in the country who will share €1m funding under the Historic Towns Initiative 2020.

The money is aimed at rebuilding local economies with heritage as a focal point and which through heritage-led regeneration, will help to provide jobs and economic stimulus.

€140,000 has been granted to Ballina for the continuation of works that originally started in 2019, also thanks Heritage Council funding, to enable essential structural repairs and conservation works to eight properties in the Pearse Street Architectural Conservation Area which will help address dereliction, allow for occupancy and promote sustainable adaptive re-use.

The Historic Towns Initiative is a joint initiative between the Department and the Heritage Council. Along with Ballina, Roscommon town, Sligo town, Tralee, Ramelton and Clones were also selected following a competitive process that invited local authorities to propose projects for heritage-led regeneration in one historic town in their area.

The Sligo town project has received €200,000 and will involve private owners working with Sligo County Council to undertake the heritage-led regeneration of O’Connell Street through streetscape conservation and enhancements.

The works proposed for Roscommon town have been allocated €154,000 and will act as a catalyst for heritage-led regeneration in the older parts of the town which have suffered decline. Conservation works will be carried out to the street frontage of a number of historic buildings.

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht News

Similar Articles