Monday, June 29, 2020

Independent Cllr Richard Finn has been appointed the new Cathaoirleach of Mayo County Council.

The Claremorris-based councillor defeated the Fine Gael candidate John O’Hara by 16 votes to 13 at today’s Annual General Meeting.

It is the second time that Cllr Finn has been chosen as Cathaoirleach in three years, having served the role in 2018.

He replaces the previous Cathaoirleach Fianna Fail Councillor Brendan Mulroy.

Westport area Independent Councillor Christy Hyland was put forward and appointed to the role of Vice-Chairperson.

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht News