Monday, June 29, 2020

Former Mayo Fianna Fail TD Lisa Chambers has been appointed by Taoiseach Micheal Martin to lead the Fianna Fail group in the Seanad.

The Castlebar native was elected as a Senator for the Cultural and Educational in March, having lost her seat in Dail Eireann during February’s General Election.

Her party colleague Dara Calleary was named as the Government Chief Whip at the weekend, a decision the Ballina native said had left him “disappointed” as he had hoped “to lead a Department.”

Fianna Fail Senator Mark Daly has been appointed the Cathaoirleach of the Seanad.

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht News