Saturday, June 27, 2020

Dara Calleary TD has been appointed as Chief Whip in the new coalition government.

Mayo TD and Fianna Fáil Deputy Leader Dara Calleary has been appointed as Chief Whip in the new Fianna Fáil/Fine Gael/Green Party coalition government. The Ballina-based TD takes over the role from Fine Gael’s Galway-based Sean Kyne.

The appointment will see Calleary, who played a key role on the Fianna Fáil side in the government formation talks, assume a super-junior minister role. He will be a Minister of State assigned to the Department of the Taoiseach and will be responsible for the voting arrangements for the government TDs and ensuring their adherence to the government line.

There had been speculation that Calleary could be given a full cabinet ministry, with the Department of Justice mooted as one possibility, but that position instead went to Fine Gael’s Helen McEntee.

Micheál Martin was officially elected as the 15th Taoiseach of Ireland at the Dáil sitting in Dublin’s Convention Centre this afternoon, with 93 votes in his favour, 63 against and two abstentions. That came after the memberships of the three government parties approved the Programme for Government on Friday evening.

Leo Varadkar has become Tánaiste and Minister for Jobs, while Stephen Donnelly of Fianna Fáil is the new Minister for Health. He replaced Simon Harris, who has moved to the Department of Higher Education and Innovation, while Darragh O’Brien of Fianna Fáil is the new Minister for Housing.

Ballindine native and Green Party senator Pippa Hackett has also been appointed as a super junior minister, as has Galway Fine Gael TD Hildegarde Naughton.

Michael Ring has lost his seat at the cabinet, with his former ministry, the Department for Rural Affairs and Community Development, having been disbanded.

The new cabinet in full:

Taoiseach: Micheál Martin (FF)

Tánaiste and Minister for Jobs: Leo Varadkar (FG)

Minister for Finance: Paschal Donohoe (FG)

Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform: Michael McGrath (FF)

Minister for Foreign Affairs: Simon Coveney (FG)

Minister for Education: Norma Foley (FF)

Minister for Climate Change, Transport and Natural Resources: Eamon Ryan (GP)

Minister for Children and Youth Affairs: Roderic O’Gorman (GP)

Minister for Arts, Communications, Culture, Tourism and Sport: Catherine Martin (GP)

Minister for Agriculture and Fisheries: Barry Cowan (FF)

Minister for Health: Stephen Donnelly (FF)

Minister for Higher Education and Innovation: Simon Harris (FG)

Minister for Social Protection and Rural Affairs: Heather Humphreys (FG)

Minister for Housing: Darragh O’Brien (FF)

Minister for Justice: Helen McEntee (FG)

Chief Whip: Dara Calleary (FF)

Super Junior Minsters: Pippa Hackett (GP) and Hildegarde Naughton (FG)


Comments are closed.

Sports Journalist
Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht News

Similar Articles