Monday, April 20, 2020

Ballina players celebrate last season’s victory in the U16 Boys Youth Cup Final. They had hoped to win the cup for a remarkable fourth time in succession las Sunday.

Ballina Rugby Club’s under-17s were yesterday meant to be defending their cup title in the Sportsground in Galway. They instead find themselves in lockdown during the current pandemic.
The team has dominated rugby within Connacht at this level for the last four years, a pay tribute to the dedication and application of the players, coaches and their families, which has brought great joy to all fortunate enough to have seen them play.
Since 2016 they have never been beaten in a cup match. That’s a run of 26 cup games undefeated, which includes two replays. They have won three Connacht cups in-a-row defeating Galwegians, Corinthians and Creggs in the various finals. In 2016 they also won the Blackrock RFC U14 International Cup Competition, defeating, Blackrock, Lansdowne, Belfast Harlequins and the Georgian National team on the way to the final, where they played Christchurch School Johannesburg from South Africa whom Ballina defeated 26-19.
They have also won the Connacht league three times in-a-row, defeating Corinthians, Galwegians and Ballinasloe in the finals.
This team had a remarkable winning streak of 33 matches between December 2016 and January 2018, that’s 25 months without a loss – a time in which they won U14, U15 and U16 leagues and cups in succession!
Last Sunday they would have been aiming for a four straight Connacht Cup triumph.
The overall stats for the team, which is coached by Richard West and John Gawley, for the last four seasons is 68 games played, with 62 wins, two draws and four defeats.
The team has had the following players involved since 2016: Daniel Boland, Alex Moran, Daragh Walsh, Patrick Morrin, Robbie Norton, Hedd Morgan, Cormac Jackson, Daniel Rafter, Ronan McLoughlin, Jack Gawley, Harry Regan, Sean Murphy, Kian Gibbons, Ciaran Boland, Liam Connor, Alex Hennigan, Fiachna Barrett, David Feeney, Harry West, Iarla Quinn, Liam Golden, Eoin Fox, Sam Callihan, Kian Meyerink, Tadhg Staunton, Mickey McHale, Eoin Fox, John Ginty, Tomas O’Boyle, Paul Brennan, Mark Barrett, David Armstrong, Aaron O’Malley, Seamus Mason, Sean Hopkins, Danny Donegan, Blayze Molloy, Oisin Quinn, Mark Norton, Cian Anderson and Cathal Kelly.
A remarkable group of young men.

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht Sport

Remembering Mayo hurling’s day in the sun

Similar Articles

Remembering Mayo hurling’s day in the sun