Sunday, February 09, 2020

With all boxes open in Mayo, the completed tally shows that Fine Gael’s Michael Ring is narrowly ahead of Sinn Fein’s Rose Conway-Walsh by just 60 votes. Ring took 14,523 votes to Conway-Walsh’s 14,463, with the pair taking 45% of the overall vote between them.

Ring’s fellow party member Alan Dillon took 5,118 votes, after polling well in his native Castlebar. Michelle Mulherin, of the same party, received 5,394 votes.

Fianna Fail deputy leader Dara Calleary is third overall, taking 9,068 votes following the completed tally. His party mate Lisa Chambers sits ahead of Dillon and Mulherin with 6,352 votes. Saoirse McHugh, of the Green Party, received 4,064 votes, with Aontu’s Paul Lawless receiving 2,794.

Joe Daly of People Before Profit tallied 695 votes, Gerry Loftus, Independent, tallied 590 votes and Kamal Uddin of Labour tallied 255. Independents Daithi O Fallamhain tallied 229 votes, Stephen Manning 126, Grainne De Barra 95 and Sean Forkan 68.

As of these figures, it looks set to be a three way battle for the fourth seat, with Ring and Conway-Walsh on course to pass the estimated quota of 12,770 and Dara Calleary far enough ahead to be comfortable for the third seat.

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht News

Next Government is Martin’s call

Dispute over council staff survey