Sunday, May 26, 2019

One of the smallest electoral areas in the country has been finalised.

The count in the three-seat Belmullet electoral area was completed after midnight. The established parties in the county reigned in Belmullet with Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil snaffling the available Mayo County Council berths.

Outgoing Fine Gael councillor Gerry Coyle topped the poll and was elected on the first count in the constituency which takes in the Erris and Achill areas. Cllr Coyle received 1,806 first preferences votes, exceeding the 1,770 quota following the first count. The Geesala native said a track record of hard work and delivery for his area contributed to his hefty vote total.

The second count saw the election of Fianna Fáil party colleagues Paul McNamara and Sean Carey. The pair got over the line following the distribution of the votes of eliminated candidates Jay Heneghan (IND) and Breege Grealis (FG).

McNamara, an outgoing Achill-based councillor took 1,696 votes in the first count with the distribution of votes then bring him above the quota with a total of 2,095.

Belmullet man Sean Carey was also deemed elected as  his second count tally of 1,753 votes was higher than that of the remaining candidate and their distributed votes put together.

Sinn Féin’s Teresa Whelan lost out in the race for the third seat. She was co-opted to Mayo County Council to fill the seat vacated by Senator Rose Conway-Walsh but was unable to retain the seat in her first local election bid.

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More News

The EuroMillions results are in…