Saturday, May 25, 2019

Tallies for four of Mayo’s six electoral areas are in with the same faces expected to be returned in Swinford.

After been coupled with Ballina last time out boundary changes have seen Swinford return to its original status as a four seater taking in the towns of Swinford, Foxford, Kiltimagh, Kilkelly and Charlestown but victory looks certain for the sitting councillors.

Charlestown’s Gerry Murray(SF) is expected to top the poll after picking up votes right across the area and finishing with 23.5% in the tallies. Michael Smyth (FF) had competition in his home patch of Swinford with Tom Lavin also on the ballot paper but the sitting councillor polled better in every one of the town’s four voting centre picking up 508 votes compared to Lavin’s 378.

Neil Cruise (FG) is estimated to have got 18.6% of the votes in the area with John Caulfield (FF) on 16%.

Both Caulfield and Aontú’s Tommy Horan were battling it out for votes in their home village of Kilmovee but the Fianna Fáil councillor polled better with 140 votes compared to Horan’s 96.

Tom Lavin on 13.9%. is in fifth spot according to the tallies.

Kiltimagh failed to put forward a candidate and the big winner there was Michael Smyth who picked up 183 out of the 746 votes. He has strong connections in the East Mayo town with his brother Gary running a pharmacy there. Cruise and Caulfield also polled well in Kiltimagh with 134 and 132 of the votes respectively. Tommy Horan ran a strong campaign there and it paid off netting him 108 of the votes.

Comments are closed.

By Marian Duggan
Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht News