Saturday, May 25, 2019

Independent sitting councillor Michael Kilcoyne and Fianna Fail’s Blackie Gavin have both been elected to Castlebar Municipal Authority on the first count.

Cllr Kilcoyne once again topped the poll in the town with 2,598 first preferences out of a total poll of 13,897.
The outgoing cathaoirleach of the authority, Cllr Gavin also celebrated reaching the quota on the first count with 1,778 votes. Cllr Kilcoyne’s total surplus votes of 867 will now be distributed among the remaining 15 candidates. The closest candidate to reaching the quota next is Fianna Fail sitting councillor, Al McDonnell who received 1519 votes while he is followed by Fine Gael’s Ger Deere, who lost his council seat in the last local election five years ago. Fine Gael’s Cyril Curke is also expected to take a seat after getting 1,192 votes in the first count.
The most interesting aspect of the Castlebar council will be the battle for the final two seats with Castlebar’s only female candidate and local school teacher, Donna Sheridan of Fine Gael reaching 804 votes, her party colleague Eugene McCormack winning 725 and Martin McLoughlin of Fianna Fail currently ahead of both on 911 votes. Outgoing Sinn Fein candidate, Joe McHale is unlikely to return to the chamber after receiving 602 first preference votes.
Also in Swinford, Michael Smyth of Fianna Fail was elected on the second count after receiving 46 transfer votes from Sinn Fein’s Gerry Murray bringing him to a total of 1,677, helping him past the quote.

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht News