Friday, March 15, 2019

The sixth annual Seamus Corbett Memorial Carra Classic 8k fun run and walk
took place in Carnacon on Sunday last, March 10. The event forms part of the
Great Lakes Challenge and was also the first event of the 2019 Mayo AC Club
Mayo AC had 27 runners competing in the event and it was one of the club’s
members, John Higgins, who broke the tape with an excellent 8k personal best of
John is a newcomer to Mayo AC is a welcome addition to the club’s senior ranks.
He recently recorded a new personal best in the marathon when running in
Seville in Spain.
Regina Casey (Galway City Harriers) was the clear winner of the women’s race in
29:26, just a few seconds outside her 2018 winning time.
Congratulations to Mayo AC prize-winners John Higgins, Colette Tuohy and Paula
Donnellan, and well done to all of our finishers.
John and Colette will lead the Club League tables ahead of the next event, the
National 10k Championships, which is followed by two more 10ks in Kimovee
and Foxford. All three of those events will take place in April.
Mags Donovan led the home Carnacon team in this excellently-organised event,
which was run in tough, chilly conditions with blustery hail showers around the
one-lap course.
The race was well supported by a host of local sponsors and all finishers
received a well-filled goodie bag; excellent value for €10 entry fee which also
included chip timing.
All finishers had welcome refreshments after the event at the prize-giving
presentations in the Community Centre.
Carra Classic 8k Results:
Men: 1, John Higgins (Mayo AC) 28:34; 2, Dan Charleton (Castlebar) 29:13; 3,
Francis Cryan (Westport AC) 29:20.
Women: 1, Regina Casey (GCH) 29:26; 2, Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC) 32:07; 3,
Paula Donnellan (Mayo AC) 35:36.
Men O50:1, Michael O’Malley 33:40.
Women O50: 1, Elaine Walkin 42:57.
The other Mayo AC finishers were: Eamonn Joyce (30:31), Brendan Hession
(30:37), Anto Devaney (31:37), Paddy Walsh (31:59), James Malone (33:03),
Ambrose Gaughan (34:28), Kevin Donnellan (35:36), Anthony Corbett (36:01),
Brian Derrig (36:02), John Cunniffe (36:04), Dominic Regan (36:21), Deirdre
Corcoran (37:26), Stephen Skillington (37:07), Raymond Clarke (37:26), Ann
McDonnell (38:12), Claire Murphy (38:12), Ann Marie Clarke (38:25), Elaine
Hession (38:47), Nicola Mylotte (40:26), John Nyland (39:17), Justin McDonagh
(39:32), Bernice McCartan (41:38), Tracey Cunnane (44:58) and Geraldine
Heneghan (46:51).

Comments are closed.

Contact Newsdesk: +353 96 60900

More Connacht Sport